questions on industry standards

macguilemuire

Grumbler in Training
I am a newly made manager of a framing department, having worked as a framer for 10 months before hand in the same shop. Now, the owner and general manager have told that there is an industry standard for how many pieces, on average, a single framer can finish. What is the average time? Where can I get more statistical information like this?
icon45.gif

Welcome to the other side of <strike>insanity</strike> framing.

Yeah, I've heard that same statement from many bosses/GMs and other people who have no clue.

I've seen gals on a line fit a mounted image, mat, glass, into a frame, back and sawtooth, 15-20 times an hour. But you have to have the right equipment too. I worked all day on ONE #%#@$&% frame job. Then there is the "Who's making the frame, and who's cutting the mats, and who's mounting....."
In a one man shop, a frame mat glass mount & fit (also know as the good ol' FMMGF) can be cranked 5-9 a day. (Question: who's answering the phone, and looking over the front counter?)

Tomorrow, I need to finish 5 fabric wrapped mats, one shadow box, 9 FMMGFs, and finish and leaf a frame. To do so, even with a partner, I will be at the shop by 6 am. We open at 10.

But then, that's just my 3 cents worth.

baer

Welcome to the Grumble