• Welcome! You will have to REGISTER a free account, before you can access the system. If you already registered, please LOG IN. (top right)
    If you can't remember your password, CLICK HERE to reset it. If you have questions, feel free to click the CONTACT US link at the bottom of this page.

wizard 8000 mat cutter jamming problem

Rian Fabrication Services  www.rianfabrication.com

Tony Johnson

Grumbler in Training
Joined
Sep 27, 2018
Messages
7
Location
australia
Am hoping a forum member might have some advice on trouble shooting my Wizard 8000 mat cutter. When in the process of cutting a mat , the mat cutter makes a thunking noise which sounds similar to a head jam and i need to start over. The problem is intermittent as often it cuts without issue , because of this im having a lot of difficulty working out what it could be.
I have tried uninstalling the software and reinstalling with new app and serial from wizard but makes no difference. Although when i open the software the computer screen flashes or blinks which could be a compatibility issue with windows 10 however i dont know that, that is causing the issue with cutting mats. Any advise would be greatly appreciated as im not having any luck with trouble shooting from anyone at wizard. I do have a small video of the problem that might help if needed.
 

tedh

SPFG, Supreme Picture Framing God
Joined
Nov 7, 2005
Messages
11,987
Location
Eastern Ontario
Business
Canal Gallery
Having the same problem, and it is costing me $$ in wasted mats. Because I can't replicate it, and because it is so intermittent, it would probably be a waste of time to call Wizard, and have them tell me to do what I'm already doing, which is to unplug and reconnect the main cable, and reboot. I'm reduced to holding a finger beside the Escape key when cutting to stop it from damaging the mat. As as you can guess, it never happens when I'm doing this.

Btw: how old is your machine? My unit is just below #250, and is about 16 years old. Nice to see my rental has increased by $35/month, too.
 

Tony Johnson

Grumbler in Training
Thread starter
Joined
Sep 27, 2018
Messages
7
Location
australia
Having the same problem, and it is costing me $$ in wasted mats. Because I can't replicate it, and because it is so intermittent, it would probably be a waste of time to call Wizard, and have them tell me to do what I'm already doing, which is to unplug and reconnect the main cable, and reboot. I'm reduced to holding a finger beside the Escape key when cutting to stop it from damaging the mat. As as you can guess, it never happens when I'm doing this.

Btw: how old is your machine? My unit is just below #250, and is about 16 years old. Nice to see my rental has increased by $35/month, too.

My wizard is around 12 years old and have replaced the box recently. BTW TedH, you can also press spacebar to cancel the cut, you probably know that already. Wizard did tell me to try a cut with the blade removed , and although the cutter behaved itself, its an intermittent problem so not sure if the problem would go away with the blade removed and of course I like to use the cutter with the blade in however would be interested to know why they suggested it. I really wish someone at Wizard was more helpful and supportive to their customer as i love their machine when its working and its a very costly and important part of our business.
 

troyveluz

MGF, Master Grumble Framer
Joined
Sep 5, 2007
Messages
817
Location
Plano, TX
I was having the same intermittent problem a few months ago. Someone in the facebook Wizard group (I think) posted a solution by changing a USB power setting using the Device Manager that seems to have fixed my problem. I can not seem to find the instructions on facebook anymore. Maybe someone else remembers the instructions.
 

artfolio

SGF, Supreme Grumble Framer
Joined
Feb 16, 2007
Messages
2,841
Location
Perth Western Australia
A few solutions which I found useful for minor glitches were:

Periodically unplug the big multi-pin connector between the control box and the gantry, brush all the pins and push both ends in and out a few times to make sure the connections are all good.

Occasionally replace the cable between the computer and the control box and make sure this is as short as practical.

Ensure you use an uninterruptible power supply to ensure the machine always has "clean" power (ie no electrical interference) at a constant voltage.

Regularly vacuum clean the machine and around it to keep dust penetration down as much as is possible.
 
Direct Contact Overlays DCO Book by James Miller

Rick Granick

SPFG, Supreme Picture Framing God
Joined
Jun 30, 1999
Messages
19,001
Location
Cincinnati, OH
I was having the same intermittent problem a few months ago. Someone in the facebook Wizard group (I think) posted a solution by changing a USB power setting using the Device Manager that seems to have fixed my problem. I can not seem to find the instructions on facebook anymore. Maybe someone else remembers the instructions.
You can do a search within a group on facebook, so if you have just been searching for it by scrolling, you might try typing USB or other relevant keywords into the search box at left on the group's fb page.

I was also going to suggest unplugging/replugging the big black cable, as that usually solves any quirky behavior problems my 8000 has, but it sounds like you have tried that already. I'm using an older version of the software on a Windows XP computer, so I don't have any input on the USB power setting... although it sounds like it could possibly be a factor.
:cool: Rick
 

Tony Johnson

Grumbler in Training
Thread starter
Joined
Sep 27, 2018
Messages
7
Location
australia
Thank you all for your response and support. I will try cleaning the pins on the multi pin connector and pushing them in and out , we try to keep our equipment as dust free as possible, but cleaning the pins might help. We have tried unplugging/replugging the big black cable without success. Not sure changing the usb power setting will help, as we switch off the wizard machinery overnight, however its a great suggestion and i will also try that in the process of elimination.
The problem with the mat cutter error and loud thunking as things go wrong is intermittent , occurring around 1 in 4 complete mat cuts it is very difficult to understand what the logical reason could be.
Thanks again to everyone for their reply and will keep you updated. Please if anyone else has had a similar experience i would very much appreciate your input. We in Australia have our a last long holiday weekend before the silly Christmas season begins so am taking the opportunity to do some fishing. Will reply early in the new week as to the results of trying these handy tips. Thank you again.
 

tedh

SPFG, Supreme Picture Framing God
Joined
Nov 7, 2005
Messages
11,987
Location
Eastern Ontario
Business
Canal Gallery
One last tip: try turning down the speed a bit. That solved another problem a while ago. (It was suggested by Wizard).
 

tedh

SPFG, Supreme Picture Framing God
Joined
Nov 7, 2005
Messages
11,987
Location
Eastern Ontario
Business
Canal Gallery
I'm not at the Wiz right now, but on the Cut screen, along the RHS, is a button with a blade and underline on it, meaning speed. Click on it, and reduce the speed by at least ten points.
 
W.D Quinn Saw Co. - US Made Picture Frame Blades

Tony Johnson

Grumbler in Training
Thread starter
Joined
Sep 27, 2018
Messages
7
Location
australia
Thanks again Tedh , reduced the speed but didnt help but it was worth a shot. Thanks I-Framer, but no moisture in the hoses.
Due to Wizards notoriously bad support for their product, i think we have reached the stage of cutting our losses and moving over to Gunnar or Valiani. However will miss the easy use of wizard
but can no longer justify all the wasted mats . The annoying thing is , its probably something small but the Wizards have vanished.
 

Dani

MGF, Master Grumble Framer
Joined
Jan 29, 2002
Messages
771
Location
Mukilteo
Tony, Your distributor in Australia is Champton Pty. Ltd. They can be reached at harry@chamton.com, website is www.chamton.com.

We recommend anyone running Windows 10 with a Driver Pack to use a USB Hub to avoid intermittant issues such as stopping randomly.

Plug the USB Hub between the Driver Pack and the computer, and that should alleviate the problem. The USB Hub helps support the older Driver Packs that have USB 1.0 with the newer computers that have USB 2.0/3.0 ports. You can find one on the internet or perhaps at your local electronic store under “USB Hub”.
 

Tony Johnson

Grumbler in Training
Thread starter
Joined
Sep 27, 2018
Messages
7
Location
australia
Thank Dani, Ive had some great suggestions from the forum so far, all from people with first hand experience. The USB hub idea would be the most far reached. I hope the suggestion is not
Wizards answer to being helpful ☺ Hubs are usually low power sources for things like a keyboard and mouse. Dani, i do appreciate your input though as anything is worth a try.
 
Beauty, Brawn, and Brains: Wizard Z1 CMC

Pat Murphey

SPFG, Supreme Picture Framing God
Joined
Nov 16, 2002
Messages
13,932
Location
Lafayette, NJ
I would take any advice from Dani very seriously. Dani has been a big help to Grumblers for years, As a Wizard insider and expert, Dani knows their products. You are dealing with an old model designed to work with earlier Windows and PC hardware.
 

snafu

SGF, Supreme Grumble Framer
Joined
Mar 2, 2003
Messages
1,004
Location
GA

Thegreeneroom

Grumbler in Training
Joined
Feb 14, 2021
Messages
5
Location
Cobham Surrey UK
Business
Picture Framer
Thanks again Tedh , reduced the speed but didnt help but it was worth a shot. Thanks I-Framer, but no moisture in the hoses.
Due to Wizards notoriously bad support for their product, i think we have reached the stage of cutting our losses and moving over to Gunnar or Valiani. However will miss the easy use of wizard
but can no longer justify all the wasted mats . The annoying thing is , its probably something small but the Wizards have vanished.
 

Thegreeneroom

Grumbler in Training
Joined
Feb 14, 2021
Messages
5
Location
Cobham Surrey UK
Business
Picture Framer
Hi my name is Liz Greene. I have a Wizzard. Yesterday my microwave blew and Tahiti off my electricity. I put the elec back on but it has done something to my Wizzard. Screen is fine. Power is fine but it says ‘Could not find Compatable Hardware’. Something has blown. Does anyone have any idea what this could be.
 

i-FRAMER

MGF, Master Grumble Framer
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
870
Location
Cairns, Australia
Hi my name is Liz Greene. I have a Wizzard. Yesterday my microwave blew and Tahiti off my electricity. I put the elec back on but it has done something to my Wizzard. Screen is fine. Power is fine but it says ‘Could not find Compatable Hardware’. Something has blown. Does anyone have any idea what this could be.
Try unplugging the USB cable and plug it into a different port. Otherwise i have nothing. I hope its not your driver box on the wizard itself
 
W.D Quinn Saw Co. - US Made Picture Frame Blades

Thegreeneroom

Grumbler in Training
Joined
Feb 14, 2021
Messages
5
Location
Cobham Surrey UK
Business
Picture Framer
How would I check if it was. Sounds scary. I am a bit of a dinosaur. I have a white box next to the cutter which has the two lights on it. Obviously data is not lighting up. Is it that box that could be damaged or the computer box under the screen. Thank you so much for your prompt reply.
 

Mike Labbe

Administrator
Forum Support Team
Forum Donor
Joined
Jun 25, 2002
Messages
16,077
Location
Lincoln, RI
Business
Get The Picture
Welcome to the Grumble!

Check the driver pack (the controller box) to make sure it is powering up. Are the lights/fan coming on, as normal? Power it off and back on, to confirm.

If it does not come on, there may be a blown board or bad fuse within. (as a direct result of the power surge, or even from a brown out caused by the surge - if they weren't on the same circuit breaker)

If it does come on, try powering everything down and boot them up again in the correct order. You can confirm that no wires have been unplugged (USB, etc)

It wouldnt hurt to remove the usb wire for 10 seconds, and then plug it back in. This should cause the drivers to be re-detected for that port.

If there are still troubles from there, you may need to contact Wizard support to walk you through a solution.

Best regards,
Mike
 

Thegreeneroom

Grumbler in Training
Joined
Feb 14, 2021
Messages
5
Location
Cobham Surrey UK
Business
Picture Framer
Thank you for your kind reply. It powers up ok. It is the data light that doesn’t light up. I’ve taken it to another Wizard owner and it doesn’t light up on his machine either. I have this dreadful feeling I’m going to be buying another box. Wizard is not sold in the UK any more but I have had support from them. We reinstalled the software but that didn’t help. I have to go to Europe for a new box. Although I’m sure there must be an expert out there who could repair the damage. It’s finding them that is the difficulty. Any advice is greatly received.
 
Vermont Hardwoods solid wood picture frame molding
Top