What are you 3D printing today?!?

Larry Peterson

SPFG, Supreme Picture Framing God
Forum Donor
Resource Provider
Joined
Apr 8, 2003
Posts
10,272
From
Wilkes-Barre, PA
I had been disappointed with my printer for a while.


Actually I think I figured out the real reason I was having problems.
I think that the filament was underperforming because of too much humidity/moisture.
My cabin is small, the printer was located in an area near the kitchen and bathroom areas, and also below a single pane widow.
Too much moisture in the air.
I moved it as far from all that as possible, and have a fan blowing warm dry air at it.
I have a de-humidifier helping to keep air conditions more stable also.

Time for one of these>

Amazon product

61j6hlnOBiL._SL1200_.jpg
 

Mike Labbe

Administrator
Forum Support Team
Forum Donor
Thread starter
Joined
Jun 25, 2002
Posts
17,995
From
Lincoln, RI
Business
Get The Picture
I have two of those S1 Sunlu/Jayo dryers and am in daily contact with the company on FB. They're good people.

Their new S2 dryer comes out in April, with 360 degree warming and 70c instead of 50c max temperature.

Moisture can be bad for filament storage, and you'll see a bad finish if so (and it can get brittle). I wouldn't have a fan on the machine itself while printing, though. That can cause items to cool too fast and warp/corners pull from the bed.

If having any quality problems, feel free to post a pic here or email and glad to try to help get it sorted with you.

Mike
PS: I went to Boston yesterday with my $99 Ender 3 Pro coupon, to take advantage of their famous promo. (would have been our 5th printer in the house) What a scam that ended up being. I had one in my shopping cart, with a bunch of accessories, and it rang up at $299. (They retail for $209) They took $100 off that to $199, instead of $99. The employees were just as confused as me, and I did a Karen and politely asked to talk with the manager. The manager wouldnt come out of the back room to explain why the price was $100 higher than the offer, and instead called an employee to the room. The employee told me that the price apparently went up for today only and that i should come back another day for the offer. So I wasted 3 total hours of driving/fuel, 45 mins waiting in the line outside the store before it opened, and 90 mins in the store for the old "bait and switch". I emailed corporate when I got home, and doubt I'll be visiting a Micro Center store again. I wonder if they'll even reply.
 
Last edited:

Nikodeumus

SGF, Supreme Grumble Framer
Joined
Apr 21, 2015
Posts
2,652
From
Comox, BC, Canada
I have two of those S1 Sunlu/Jayo dryers and am in daily contact with the company on FB. They're good people.

Their new S2 dryer comes out in April, with 360 degree warming and 70c instead of 50c max temperature.

Moisture can be bad for filament storage, and you'll see a bad finish if so (and it can get brittle). I wouldn't have a fan on the machine itself while printing, though. That can cause items to cool too fast and warp/corners pull from the bed.

If having any quality problems, feel free to post a pic here or email and glad to try to help get it sorted with you.

Mike
PS: I went to Boston yesterday with my $99 Ender 3 Pro coupon, to take advantage of their famous promo. (would have been our 5th printer in the house) What a scam that ended up being. I had one in my shopping cart, with a bunch of accessories, and it rang up at $299. (They retail for $209) They took $100 off that to $199, instead of $99. The employees were just as confused as me, and I did a Karen and politely asked to talk with the manager. The manager wouldnt come out of the back room to explain why the price was $100 higher than the offer, and instead called an employee to the room. The employee told me that the price apparently went up for today only and that i should come back another day for the offer. So I wasted 3 total hours of driving/fuel, 45 mins waiting in the line outside the store before it opened, and 90 mins in the store for the old "bait and switch". I emailed corporate when I got home, and doubt I'll be visiting a Micro Center store again. I wonder if they'll even reply.
Oof, that's a classic "bad retail experience" story if I've ever heard one.
What possible reason could a promotion be "un-offered" for one day only, that is absolutely bizarre?
The manager was probably so busy on the phone taking complaints or tearing a strip off someone else for a mistake in the ad.
It'll be interesting to see how head office responds. Keep us posted.

I wouldn't have a fan on the machine itself while printing, though.
I underexplained. The fan is on the floor blowing across a baseboard heater to direct warm air in the general area of the printer.
There isn't a "draft" blowing across the printer as it's working.
But I do take your point. Air current, in general, may be enough to cause issues.

For those reasons, I am also thinking that it would be a good idea to build a case to isolate the printer because of the relatively unstable environment of my cabin (humidity and airflow).
I've got access to plenty of excess plexiglass, and have seen several print models for making connectors for building boxes for this purpose.
 

Mike Labbe

Administrator
Forum Support Team
Forum Donor
Thread starter
Joined
Jun 25, 2002
Posts
17,995
From
Lincoln, RI
Business
Get The Picture
A lot of people do put their printers in boxes, if there are cold drafts. They even sell special covers/cases for them. Mine are in a room with very low humdity at a constant temp, so I havent found the need.
 

Jim Miller

SPFG, Supreme Picture Framing God
Forum Donor
Joined
May 19, 2000
Posts
18,994
From
Suburban Central Ohio
What will they think of next?
🤗

This looks like a great way to prop up a phone or tablet for viewing or Zooming, and if I had a 3D printer, I probably would try to make something like this for myself. It's patented, of course, but it would be fairly easy to modify the design somewhat and legally make one for personal use.

The GoDonut is available on Amazon for $19.99
1639410430836.png
 

Larry Peterson

SPFG, Supreme Picture Framing God
Forum Donor
Resource Provider
Joined
Apr 8, 2003
Posts
10,272
From
Wilkes-Barre, PA

Probably not a good candidate for 3d printing as the material needs to be flexible to allow cords to be inserted/removed. The commercial ones are made of rubber. Just ordered me a bunch as finding cables lost in the muck behind/around my computers is problematic.

Amazon product
 

Mike Labbe

Administrator
Forum Support Team
Forum Donor
Thread starter
Joined
Jun 25, 2002
Posts
17,995
From
Lincoln, RI
Business
Get The Picture
It would work with TPU type flexible filament, which is used for things like soap and candle molds, cell phone cases, etc. I used it to make some soap molds before, but had to modify my printer with a Micro Swiss direct drive hot end assembly, to handle the flexible stuff. It is difficult to work with, doesnt work well with bowden tube setups, and has to be printed slowly.

We are now up to 5 printers in the house! Added a Creality Ender 3 v2 model a couple days ago.
 

Jim Miller

SPFG, Supreme Picture Framing God
Forum Donor
Joined
May 19, 2000
Posts
18,994
From
Suburban Central Ohio
Larry, those cable clips would need to be quite flexible. You are correct that a GoDonut sort of device would need to be at least a little bit flexible, as well. But maybe not much, since it is basically a stand-up support. So long as your phone/tablet would fit into the slots, it would work.

Isn't there a somewhat flexible plastic available for 3D printing?
 

Nikodeumus

SGF, Supreme Grumble Framer
Joined
Apr 21, 2015
Posts
2,652
From
Comox, BC, Canada
I've been busily making christmas gifts this week:
CM211212-214037006.jpg
CM211212-214017005.jpg
20211211_180217.jpg

CM211212-213905003.jpg
20211211_202830.jpg

CM211212-213031001~2.jpg
CM211212-213133002~2.jpg


Most are models downloaded from Thingiverse.

The dog portrait I created myself from a free vector drawing.
I used a vector editor to tweak the drawing somewhat.
I imported into TinkerCad to turn the 2d drawing into a 3d profile and added the medallion base.
Then into Cura to render the model for printing.
 

Mike Labbe

Administrator
Forum Support Team
Forum Donor
Thread starter
Joined
Jun 25, 2002
Posts
17,995
From
Lincoln, RI
Business
Get The Picture
I have been doing some holiday prints, too (too many to post, but here are a few)
Litho3.jpg

Litho2.jpg

boot.jpg

snowmen.jpg
 

Mike Labbe

Administrator
Forum Support Team
Forum Donor
Thread starter
Joined
Jun 25, 2002
Posts
17,995
From
Lincoln, RI
Business
Get The Picture
Embarrassed Reindeer, with Mr and Mrs Claus. (Reindeer is in 3d printed Resin)

1639824215077.png
 

Mike Labbe

Administrator
Forum Support Team
Forum Donor
Thread starter
Joined
Jun 25, 2002
Posts
17,995
From
Lincoln, RI
Business
Get The Picture
This weekend I built a workstation to house 4 of our printers. I'm really happy with the result. This used to be a spare bedroom. Haha
Sorry for the mess.

20211219_181001.jpg
 

Larry Peterson

SPFG, Supreme Picture Framing God
Forum Donor
Resource Provider
Joined
Apr 8, 2003
Posts
10,272
From
Wilkes-Barre, PA
I'm using my spare bedroom as a closet. Who needs those durn clothes anyway. Pack'em all up and move in the printers. Nudy time.
 

Mike Labbe

Administrator
Forum Support Team
Forum Donor
Thread starter
Joined
Jun 25, 2002
Posts
17,995
From
Lincoln, RI
Business
Get The Picture
We put the spare bed out on the sidewalk, and put this where the bed WAS. Who needs a spare room anyways? :)

These are just simple racks from Home Depot, configured in a way different from their example. I wired in LED light strips to the upper frame.

 

Mike Labbe

Administrator
Forum Support Team
Forum Donor
Thread starter
Joined
Jun 25, 2002
Posts
17,995
From
Lincoln, RI
Business
Get The Picture
I'm currently printing this one, using 3 printers simultaneously. It will take several weeks of 24/7 printing to do all 60+ files.

It's about 2/3 done!

Design purchased from Loot Studios.

Printer #6 is on it's way from China now, a prototype machine for an upcoming model that is being released later this year. I'm helping to test, review, and proofread the documentation in English. (Sunlu S9 Plus)

Bigtree tech has a package on the way also, with some of their most popular products. (I don't know which) ha

The Lady Harpy.png
 

Mike Labbe

Administrator
Forum Support Team
Forum Donor
Thread starter
Joined
Jun 25, 2002
Posts
17,995
From
Lincoln, RI
Business
Get The Picture
Well 3 1/2 weeks later, she is nearly done. There are exactly 100 files that had to be printed. Some of the difficult ones failed and needed a few tries. (The big pieces take over 3 days per file)

Once I get it all laid out, will take a video. Andy is going to put it all together, and faux finish it.
 

Nikodeumus

SGF, Supreme Grumble Framer
Joined
Apr 21, 2015
Posts
2,652
From
Comox, BC, Canada
Well 3 1/2 weeks later, she is nearly done. There are exactly 100 files that had to be printed. Some of the difficult ones failed and needed a few tries. (These take over days per file)

Once I get it all laid out, will take a video. Andy is going to put it all together, and faux finish it.
:popc:
 

Mike Labbe

Administrator
Forum Support Team
Forum Donor
Thread starter
Joined
Jun 25, 2002
Posts
17,995
From
Lincoln, RI
Business
Get The Picture
A 77lb mystery box came in today. :)

This is a prototype for the future "Sunlu S9 Plus" printer coming in the fall. (our 6th) I believe they're launching the kickstarter campaign next week.

The S9 Plus will feature a large bed, dual Z motors/controls, auto level sensor, filament breakage and runout detection, clog sensor, auto resume after power failure, and an integrated filament dryer system that is controlled by the main screen. Will post more and a video, after I've had some days to set her up.

20220405_122601.jpg
 

JFeig

SGF, Supreme Grumble Framer
Forum Donor
Joined
Oct 13, 1999
Posts
4,898
From
Oak Park, MI
I have a Markforged 2 3-D printer via a Covid recovery program and received an alert to print tourniquet clips so that they can be shipped to Ukraine for use in the field by the Ukraine Defense Department. I am already on my second batch of clips, 5 clips per batch, 2 batches per day. I hope to print 24/7 through the weekend. The Accelerator i am working with, Automation Alley - Project Diamond has committed to 15,000 clips. The material is carbon filled nylon and printed with 100% fill.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20220405_082054343.jpg
    IMG_20220405_082054343.jpg
    129.8 KB · Views: 33

Mike Labbe

Administrator
Forum Support Team
Forum Donor
Thread starter
Joined
Jun 25, 2002
Posts
17,995
From
Lincoln, RI
Business
Get The Picture
That is awesome! What are the clips used for?

We did thousands of customized face mask ear guards back in 2020, and donated them to local nursing homes. (and to grumble sponsors)

Are your clips for something medical? I can't figure it out by the photo.

Mike
 

cvm

PFG, Picture Framing God
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Posts
9,813
From
Boulogne, FL
They're clips/clasps that fit on a nylon strap that can then be tightened/loosened quickly. Kinda like those straps with clasps inside your suitcase that you can clip together and tighten to hold all your clothes down.
 

Mike Labbe

Administrator
Forum Support Team
Forum Donor
Thread starter
Joined
Jun 25, 2002
Posts
17,995
From
Lincoln, RI
Business
Get The Picture
That is a fantastic life saving contribution. Thanks for doing it!
 

JFeig

SGF, Supreme Grumble Framer
Forum Donor
Joined
Oct 13, 1999
Posts
4,898
From
Oak Park, MI
Nikodeumus,
No. per the prepaid maintenance warranty for the machine only the filament sold by the machines manufacturer is allowed to be used in the machine. It is a special industrial Nylon based material filled with carbon fiber. My cost is about $180 / per spool.
BTY, the machine's software is locked to only their products. IE I cannot change the temperature settings (over 270°C).
 

Mike Labbe

Administrator
Forum Support Team
Forum Donor
Thread starter
Joined
Jun 25, 2002
Posts
17,995
From
Lincoln, RI
Business
Get The Picture
Do you think any local filament retailers would donate material if you reached out to ask for help?
If it was regular filament, I know several (From China) who would. This is the good (pricy) stuff!
 

Nikodeumus

SGF, Supreme Grumble Framer
Joined
Apr 21, 2015
Posts
2,652
From
Comox, BC, Canada
Nikodeumus,
No. per the prepaid maintenance warranty for the machine only the filament sold by the machines manufacturer is allowed to be used in the machine. It is a special industrial Nylon based material filled with carbon fiber. My cost is about $180 / per spool.
BTY, the machine's software is locked to only their products. IE I cannot change the temperature settings (over 270°C).
Well, you've done what you can to help.
Hopefully they will eventually send you more so you can continue your good work.
 

JFeig

SGF, Supreme Grumble Framer
Forum Donor
Joined
Oct 13, 1999
Posts
4,898
From
Oak Park, MI
Several days ago I did make an offer to the control center to continue printing the clips if they could supply me more filament. With a group of 300 companies with the printers, there must be several who did not follow "the program" to print the clips.
 

Nikodeumus

SGF, Supreme Grumble Framer
Joined
Apr 21, 2015
Posts
2,652
From
Comox, BC, Canada
I got his model from Thingiverse.
Toaster Tweezers!
For not burning fingers when retrieving fresh toast.
20220403_144956.jpg


 

Nikodeumus

SGF, Supreme Grumble Framer
Joined
Apr 21, 2015
Posts
2,652
From
Comox, BC, Canada
I'm having a problem with storing rolled paper, such as posters and architectural drawings at work.

I did a think about it for a bit.
Think Winnie The Pooh GIF


I came up with a sketch.
20220410_085648.jpg


I designed a model in TinkerCad and rendered it in Cura.
Jbracket.png


I had my robut build it.
20220409_021044.jpg

20220409_151516.jpg

20220409_151453.jpg


From problem realized to problem solved in less than 24 hours.
(It took over 15 hours to print those 4 J-brackets)
 

Mike Labbe

Administrator
Forum Support Team
Forum Donor
Thread starter
Joined
Jun 25, 2002
Posts
17,995
From
Lincoln, RI
Business
Get The Picture
Nice. Is that an Ender 3 V2, or the S1? If the V2, I recommend the JYERS firmware upgrade for the brain and for the screen. Enables long filename support, saving settings to the board, colorization of menu, etc.
 

Nikodeumus

SGF, Supreme Grumble Framer
Joined
Apr 21, 2015
Posts
2,652
From
Comox, BC, Canada
Nice. Is that an Ender 3 V2, or the S1? If the V2, I recommend the JYERS firmware upgrade for the brain and for the screen. Enables long filename support, saving settings to the board, colorization of menu, etc.
It is a V2.
I've looked up a few links to "Jyers", they all direct me here.
One video I watched show a long list of .bin files and shows E3V2-ManualMesh-3x3-v4.2.2.bin (or V4.2.7.bin depending on the chip installed).
But he doesn't show where in the Jyers github he found that list of .bin files.
Do you know which folder/directory I should look in?
 

Mike Labbe

Administrator
Forum Support Team
Forum Donor
Thread starter
Joined
Jun 25, 2002
Posts
17,995
From
Lincoln, RI
Business
Get The Picture
Well first you have to look at your board physically, to see if it is a 4.2.2 (like mine) or a 4.2.7

If you have it stock, then you'd use the regular version. If you have an ABL (touch auto level device) then there is a version for that.

There is also a version for t he screen itself (it has a hidden sd card reader under the back cover)

The upgrade isnt mandatory, but does add several improvements and features. I think a new version is coming soon, so maybe wait and get that new version when it drops.

You'd want one of the ones that says DEFAULT if you just have a stock V2. (there is one for 4.2.2 and one for 4.2.7 hardware)


I watched this video, which walks you through both steps:
 

Nikodeumus

SGF, Supreme Grumble Framer
Joined
Apr 21, 2015
Posts
2,652
From
Comox, BC, Canada
Well first you have to look at your board physically, to see if it is a 4.2.2 (like mine) or a 4.2.7

If you have it stock, then you'd use the regular version. If you have an ABL (touch auto level device) then there is a version for that.

There is also a version for t he screen itself (it has a hidden sd card reader under the back cover)

The upgrade isnt mandatory, but does add several improvements and features. I think a new version is coming soon, so maybe wait and get that new version when it drops.

You'd want one of the ones that says DEFAULT if you just have a stock V2. (there is one for 4.2.2 and one for 4.2.7 hardware)


I watched this video, which walks you through both steps:

I have watched several of that guy's videos. He's very good at describing things clearly.
 
Top