• Welcome! You will have to REGISTER a free account, before you can access the system. If you already registered, please LOG IN. (top right)
    If you can't remember your password, CLICK HERE to reset it. If you have questions, feel free to click the CONTACT US link at the bottom of this page.

Sew mounting a rug.. advice?

LifeSaver Cloud from LifeSaver Software, Inc.

angee1011

Grumbler in Training
Business
Michael's
Hello all,
Some background: I've been framing for several years at Michael's, so I know my fair share. And I've done plenty of sew mounts before. I just find them rather intimidating. This particular sew mount I'm working on is a rug that's roughly 3 feet by 4.5 feet. My plan is to drymount some scrap matting to foam to help stabilize it so it doesn't bow with the weight as I sew. That said, the sewing part always trips me up, especially with weightier and larger pieces like this one. Anyone have any advice or tips for me that might help me with this one? There's no matting with this one, it's just going into a frame after I mount it with some acrylic.

Thanks!

Ylva

SPFG, Supreme Picture Framing God
Forum Support Team
Forum Donor
Welcome to the G, Angee.

If it is that big and heavier, I don't think I would attempt a sew mount. I would probably sew a pocket on the back of the rug and put a rod through that. Then hang it in a shadow box. If needed, you could sew a few loose stitches on the bottom, to prevent it from swinging out too much.

If it is strong enough by itself, you might be able to sew through it, just on the top.

Another thing I might consider (hard to know without seeing and feeling the piece) is to stitch it to a larger fabric background and stretch it like a canvas.

Drymounting mat board to foam won't do much to stabilize it, it isn't strong and rigid enough

Lafontsee

CGF II, Certified Grumble Framer Level 2