Seeking advice for long Washi mount with exposed edges

joepen76

Grumbler in Training
Business
IT
Hello everyone!

I'm a framing amateur and have recently decided to try the process myself for a watercolor painting on Washi (nothing valuable, just sentimental value).
I wanted to do my best job in terms of archival safety/reversability while avoid ruining the painting.

The painting is quite long horizontally, about 50cm and tall just 18cm. It has peculiarity of having paint right on three out of four edges so I wanted to mount with exposed edges. If this wouldn't have been the case I would have used corners/support but I'm out of luck.

I was thinking to do a t-hinge mount and using 3-4 hinges on the upper side. Since the paper is very thin and "flappy", I was thinking to use some tapes on the lower, left and right side. This would be only glued to the painting and not the the boards. This would allow the passpartout to "clamp the sides" and make the painting more tidy. passpartout is to be cut exactly to the size of the artwork so to hide hinges and the others pieces of tape. I was not going to use self-adhesive linen tape to avoid issues when removing.

I was thinking to go ahead with my plan and to use the hayaku hinging tape (water reversible) after watching these vidoes by Mal Reynolds:
To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

However I found myself not easily finding the product anymore on Lineco website or online. So I had some questions.

1) in general does my plan sound good or is it complete nonsense?
2) what happened to the hayaku tape? I can only find a "new gummed version" .. is it the same?
3) i see a gummed paper hinging tape (water activated).. could this be a substitute candidate? This -> https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/71NF15aHmHL._SX522_.jpg

Thanks a lot in advance for taking the time to read this and any advice!