Opinions Wanted Noob - Not Noob - Seeks to Mat/Frame from Home as Hobby

maitai11

Grumbler in Training
Introduction: Hello fellow framers! I signed up on the Framer's Forum, only to find they're in the U.K. So, here I am and this is what I posted as my intro:

Greetings from Northern Nevada,

I look forward to meeting you all. I'm a firefighter/paramedic who just made his second year at the U.S. Navy's TOPGUN fighter pilot training facility in Fallon, NV.

I believe I want to begin matting and framing at home; more on that later.

Besides framing, I like to blow apart vintage American-made pocket watches, overhaul them, and bring them back to life - the greatest small machine of the 20th century. I also like to work on home, car, motorcycle and other projects that deal with mechanical things...I think I see a trend
icon_wink.gif

Ty Wilson is my favorite artist. I have an inscribed print that he dedicated me - my fifth work of his - we've become friends over the years. I used to work at a frame shop on base in Hawaii, but they do not have such a facility here at Naval Air Station Fallon. The new print can be found here: https://tywilson.com/collections/romance-prints/products/untitled-romantic-art-6

Thank you so much! The people who share on these forums are worth their weight in GOLD.

Kind regards,

Maitai

First Post with Questions: Again, here's what I initially posted on the other site. Thanks in advance ;)

Hi Everyone!

Second post here, please see my intro here: https://theframersforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=34&t=16847.

I used to have a DIY facility to work at, but alas, no more. I'm ready (and, quite frankly, I need to start) framing stuff from home...who knows, but it will be a hobby for the time being. I'm looking to get started, and good hobbyist equipment is what I'm after...that's where your recommendations could really help
icon_wink.gif