Newbie with a few quick questions

MrsVH

Grumbler
From
Burlington, ON, Canada
Hello!

I found this site a while back and have been enjoying reading through all the advise and colourful comments. I am new to the framing game. My husband is a photographer and we have decided to try expand the business to include custom framing. I have taken a course on framing, invested in a mat cutter and can't wait to get started but have a few quick questions.
I noticed that 3M ATG tape also comes in a "Gold" non-acid version does this mean that the regular is not a non-acid version? (yes...as I type this sounds like a stupid question but...)
Also I was trying to determine what to use as a backing board. When mounting I will be doing hinges or 3M PMA...other than the obvious of using matboard what would make a good mounting board? I noticed that United has an acid free mounting board but is it really acid free (my understanding is that we are to be wary of such labels)?
Is there one piece of equipment you could not do without when starting up?
Finally, I was considering getting a manual underpinner/v-nailer? Any suggestions?
Sorry this is so long. My course got me all jazzed up and I have dreaming and thinking about matting and framing non-stop for the last few weeks.

Cheers!

Framar

WOW Framer
From
Buffalo, New York, USA/Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
Hi, neighbor (or should I say, neighbour) - Welcome to the Grumble!

About the ATG - since it is never used anywhere near the artwork I for one do not bother with the Acid Free sort. I don't really use it much more anyways - I attach double mats together with my Solo Glue Writer which uses a proprietory white or PVA type adhesive. I also use this for attaching backing paper.

About the only thing I use as mounting board anymore is Artcare Acid-Free Foam board or Artcare Restore. With really special artworks being hinged I also use a solid rag matboard of some sort.