• Welcome! You will have to REGISTER a free account, before you can access the system. If you already registered, please LOG IN. (top right)
    If you can't remember your password, CLICK HERE to reset it. If you have questions, feel free to click the CONTACT US link at the bottom of this page.
FrameReady Special Offer - Call 888-281-2202

New to Framing - Creating Moulding on a Table Saw, Is it worth it?

Kasimir81

Grumbler
Hello everyone,

First I would like to say thank you to everyone who participates in this site. I am new to framing and it has been a great resource!!! Apologies if this question has been answered before but I did a search and could not see it.

Right now I work a full time job in corporate America and I am looking to transition into this business by start part-time in my own business supporting customer that I have from selling art. Mostly etchings, lithographs, poster from various artists spanning many genres. I currently sell them framed (already framed) and unframed. I have requests of people wanting some pieces framed and I also want to frame some for my own collection. I am at the point now where for larger pieces 40" x 40" and above where getting pre-made frames either cannot be shipped or the price is so much that it doesn't make sense financially profit wise.

My goal in the next 3 years is to expand the business to be a gallery, frame shop and small auction house for fine art (secondary market). Either way at this point I want to start doing work so when I get to that point I will have basics under my belt. What I want is a frame profile which is very simple that looks exactly like what you would see in a contemporary art gallery, .75" - 1.25" width with a simple rabbet and a depth (1" +/-) that will vary depending on how much I want to float the print or if it will be matted. I have taken frames apart and put them together, cut mats, hinged work and done a lot except raw cutting and joining.