• Welcome! You will have to REGISTER a free account, before you can access the system. If you already registered, please LOG IN. (top right)
    If you can't remember your password, CLICK HERE to reset it. If you have questions, feel free to click the CONTACT US link at the bottom of this page.

Mouse problem

Hoffmann Dovetail Joining System

Framar

WOW Framer
Joined
Jul 24, 2001
Messages
25,854
Location
Buffalo, New York, USA/Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
I have the kind of mouse problem my kitties cannot solve (thought I'd get that in before any of you guys brought it up).

I am now running both of my laptops - the old Gateway Win7 with an older Logitech M325 mouse and the new Lenovo Win10 with a newer Logitech M325.

The problem is with the Win10 machine - the mouse just stops scrolling kind of all of a sudden. I mean the wheel goes round but the cursor remains where I left it. I can use the scroll bars on the sides OK, but scrolling down a page with the wheel just stops working.

I have set the mouse properties to work with free scrolling, and sometimes it will start working again for a while if I restart the laptop. But sometimes it won't.

Is this a Win10 problem or a Lenovo problem or a Logitech problem? Or a me problem?

Any suggestions?

Oh, and I have researched this through a number of tech forums and I do not seem to be the only one to have this problem and there appear to be few answers.

It is funny - I never realized how much I used the scroll feature until it stops working.
 

neilframer

PFG, Picture Framing God
Forum Donor
Joined
Jan 27, 2010
Messages
8,217
Location
Phoenix, AZ
I'm an iMac guy but have you tried swapping the mouses (mice?) to see if anything changes?
 

Framar

WOW Framer
Thread starter
Joined
Jul 24, 2001
Messages
25,854
Location
Buffalo, New York, USA/Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
And . . . now it is working again.

What the heck?

Could I have a haunted mouse?

:faintthud:
 
LifeSaver Cloud from LifeSaver Software, Inc.

Framar

WOW Framer
Thread starter
Joined
Jul 24, 2001
Messages
25,854
Location
Buffalo, New York, USA/Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
Maybe it picked up on the fact that I was searching online for its replacement . . .
 

Framar

WOW Framer
Thread starter
Joined
Jul 24, 2001
Messages
25,854
Location
Buffalo, New York, USA/Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
The only experience I have had with an Apple product was the used iPhone given to me by a techy guy. There was not one simgle thing about it I did not hate. Sorry - you will never convince me.
 

wvframer

SGF, Supreme Grumble Framer
Forum Support Team
Forum Donor
Rest In Peace
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
1,964
Location
West Virginia
I am travelling this week and using a tiny Lenovo tablet with an attachable keyboard. I have a USB mouse that I use with it if I am doing more than checking email.

While I was here, Windows did one of those big-time updates where they have a bunch of popups before you can use your computer. Since that update, my mouse has been doing exactly what you describe.

The inconsistency is maddening.
 
Rian Fabrication Services  www.rianfabrication.com

Mike Labbe

Administrator
Forum Support Team
Forum Donor
Joined
Jun 25, 2002
Messages
15,923
Location
Lincoln, RI
Business
Get The Picture
I get that when the battery is weak
 

Framar

WOW Framer
Thread starter
Joined
Jul 24, 2001
Messages
25,854
Location
Buffalo, New York, USA/Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
Hmmm.

Battery was in the middle of the green zone but I popped in a fresh one,

Stay tuned . . .
 

Mike Labbe

Administrator
Forum Support Team
Forum Donor
Joined
Jun 25, 2002
Messages
15,923
Location
Lincoln, RI
Business
Get The Picture
id switch the mouse AND chip with a different one on another computer, to see if it is the mouse or the computer.If you had to replace it, I think they are about $10
 

Framar

WOW Framer
Thread starter
Joined
Jul 24, 2001
Messages
25,854
Location
Buffalo, New York, USA/Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
I have switched them back and forth several times to the old laptop and the mouse/chip seems to be working perfectly.

Maybe I'll try for a longer period of time.

Stay tuned.
 
W.D Quinn Saw Co. - US Made Picture Frame Blades

wvframer

SGF, Supreme Grumble Framer
Forum Support Team
Forum Donor
Rest In Peace
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
1,964
Location
West Virginia
Once I started thinking power, I wondered if a slow internet connection might be affecting things. If I count to 20, mine starts working again.

But it would be so much more fun to blame Microsoft! 😃 I think I would just replace the mouse and have the satisfaction of trashing the offending mouse.
 

Framar

WOW Framer
Thread starter
Joined
Jul 24, 2001
Messages
25,854
Location
Buffalo, New York, USA/Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
I just find it baffling that everything else on the mouse works 100% of the time and yet the scroll wheel works on and off, willy nilly. No rhyme or reason. It is an enigma wrapped in a . . . well, nevermind. :rolleyes:
 

Mike Labbe

Administrator
Forum Support Team
Forum Donor
Joined
Jun 25, 2002
Messages
15,923
Location
Lincoln, RI
Business
Get The Picture
If it's just one piece of the mouse most likely it is a physical problem with the potentiometer inside on that wheel. It sounds like it's time to invest in a new one
 

Mike Labbe

Administrator
Forum Support Team
Forum Donor
Joined
Jun 25, 2002
Messages
15,923
Location
Lincoln, RI
Business
Get The Picture
Beauty, Brawn, and Brains: Wizard Z1 CMC

Framar

WOW Framer
Thread starter
Joined
Jul 24, 2001
Messages
25,854
Location
Buffalo, New York, USA/Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
Thanks, Mike. Since I am stuck in Canada until the border reopens I will have to put up with quirky mousie until I can order one from the States. Too expensive to buy in Canada! (And my local office supply store does not have red ones!)
 

i-FRAMER

MGF, Master Grumble Framer
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
865
Location
Cairns, Australia
yes i remember the old mice with a ball. You would have to sometimes take it apart and clean the rollers from build up gunk. Perhaps your scroll wheel has some debris somewhere that needs cleaning. Try blowing it with air blower. Might move some dust. Worth a try.
 
Beauty, Brawn, and Brains: Wizard Z1 CMC

Framar

WOW Framer
Thread starter
Joined
Jul 24, 2001
Messages
25,854
Location
Buffalo, New York, USA/Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
I took it apart and used canned air wherever I could and used a flashlight to see into the innards,and there was no gunk at all - no cat hair. Certainly not like the old track balls. They really were dust magnets!
 

wvframer

SGF, Supreme Grumble Framer
Forum Support Team
Forum Donor
Rest In Peace
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
1,964
Location
West Virginia
This is a serious question: why would a mouse cost so much more in Canada?

I openly admit my ignorance. Has free trade eroded so much that it is a duty problem?
 

Larry Peterson

PFG, Picture Framing God
Forum Donor
Resource Provider
Joined
Apr 8, 2003
Messages
8,811
Location
Wilkes-Barre, PA

Framar

WOW Framer
Thread starter
Joined
Jul 24, 2001
Messages
25,854
Location
Buffalo, New York, USA/Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
Most things cost more in Canada, probably because the Canadian dollar is worth about a third less than the US dollar, and the Goods and Services Tax (GST) is 13% on pretty much everything with the exception of nutritious groceries (as opposed to junk food). Sometimes prices balance out to be cheaper in Canada. Only taking me 50 years to figure out what to buy where. It is still a work in progress.

The cheap electronics on eBay are usually from China. That's a big nope-a-roonie for me.

And of course, the mouse has been working just fine all day today. LOL
 

wvframer

SGF, Supreme Grumble Framer
Forum Support Team
Forum Donor
Rest In Peace
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
1,964
Location
West Virginia
Nothing like threatening electronics with replacement to get them working again! :)
 
Beauty, Brawn, and Brains: Wizard Z1 CMC

neilframer

PFG, Picture Framing God
Forum Donor
Joined
Jan 27, 2010
Messages
8,217
Location
Phoenix, AZ
Nothing like threatening electronics with replacement to get them working again! :)
Sometimes banging them on the table works as well....:oops:
( I didn't say that.....):icon11:
 

Jim Miller

SPFG, Supreme Picture Framing God
Forum Donor
Featured Vendor
Joined
May 19, 2000
Messages
18,258
Location
Suburban Central Ohio
Hey Mar,
Have you tried using a different USB port on the computer for the dongle? I once had a similar issue and found that the problem was the port. In your case, maybe it's full of cat hair...?
😏
 

Framar

WOW Framer
Thread starter
Joined
Jul 24, 2001
Messages
25,854
Location
Buffalo, New York, USA/Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
I have both 2.0 and 3.0 ports on the offending Lenovo, and the problem recurs with both of them.

But I ought not to say that too loudly because the durned thing had been working now since yesterday morning.

:faintthud:
 
W.D Quinn Saw Co. - US Made Picture Frame Blades

Framar

WOW Framer
Thread starter
Joined
Jul 24, 2001
Messages
25,854
Location
Buffalo, New York, USA/Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
Found one on eBay for a great price - and it is NIB!

So it will be awaiting my return to the USA, some fine day . . .
 

Framar

WOW Framer
Thread starter
Joined
Jul 24, 2001
Messages
25,854
Location
Buffalo, New York, USA/Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
Da mouse arrived at my shop and is being held at my neighbor's awaiting my return (if they ever open the US/Canadian border again).

Original mouse is behaving in a predictably unpredictable fashion. :faintthud:

My oldest house mouse stopped working the other day and when I opened it up it was stuffed full of cat hair. Cleaned it out and now it is working like new. :icon21:
 

Larry Peterson

PFG, Picture Framing God
Forum Donor
Resource Provider
Joined
Apr 8, 2003
Messages
8,811
Location
Wilkes-Barre, PA
My oldest house mouse stopped working the other day and when I opened it up it was stuffed full of cat hair. Cleaned it out and now it is working like new. :icon21:

Your next rodent should be optical. Nothing for cat hair to get into.
 

CHolt

CGF, Certified Grumble Framer
Joined
Nov 20, 2012
Messages
144
Find the "Mouse Properties" link in your control panel and click the "Wheel" tab. Fiddle with the settings for the number of lines to scroll and compare them with the computer that it works on.
 
Hoffmann Dovetail Joining System

Framar

WOW Framer
Thread starter
Joined
Jul 24, 2001
Messages
25,854
Location
Buffalo, New York, USA/Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
Fiddling with Mouse Properties and the scroll was one of the first things I tried. To no avail.

My brand new mouse awaits me at my shop if they ever reopen the border.
 

wvframer

SGF, Supreme Grumble Framer
Forum Support Team
Forum Donor
Rest In Peace
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
1,964
Location
West Virginia
Does it require smuggling to get this new mouse to you? If I mailed you one, would the post office deliver it to your home? Would there be a duty since there is no NAFTA anymore? Or is there?

This is fun to kick around here, but knowing that you are having to deal with this problem is starting to make me crazy! :nuts:
 

Framar

WOW Framer
Thread starter
Joined
Jul 24, 2001
Messages
25,854
Location
Buffalo, New York, USA/Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
Well, what a kind gesture, Greg. Thank you!

But the computer I use most frequently is my old Win7 laptop with my old mouse which is working perfectly.

The problematic mouse is much newer for the newer Win10 laptop which I am trying to get used to using.

And my brand new mouse is all bought and paid for and just awaiting my return to Buffalo. I have waited this long, what's a bit more time?
 

Framar

WOW Framer
Thread starter
Joined
Jul 24, 2001
Messages
25,854
Location
Buffalo, New York, USA/Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
Brought my brand new mouse home from Buffalo today and it is working great - scrolling like a champ (so far) despite having been packaged with its battery installed. The battery was leaking all over but I cleaned it up fairly successfully.

I brought the old weird mouse to the shop and it is now behaving beautifully on my old XP desktop.

Go figure.

(And it makes me really sad that the last person to try to help me on this crazy post was Greg. We shall miss his kindness and expertise!)
 

tedh

SPFG, Supreme Picture Framing God
Joined
Nov 7, 2005
Messages
11,975
Location
Eastern Ontario
Business
Canal Gallery
Whoa, Nellie! How did you get into the States?
 
Vermont Hardwoods solid wood picture frame molding

Framar

WOW Framer
Thread starter
Joined
Jul 24, 2001
Messages
25,854
Location
Buffalo, New York, USA/Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
Whoa, Nellie! How did you get into the States?

I drove over the bridge (see my other thread Back in Business for details).

On the way back home tonight the raodway up to the Peace Bridge was so deserted there were two gigantic glossy black turkey vultures fighting over some road kill right on the verge!
 
W.D Quinn Saw Co. - US Made Picture Frame Blades
Top