More XP Security Questions

MerpsMom

SGF, Supreme Grumble Framer
Charter Member
Joined
Jan 1, 1997
Posts
4,247
From
Leawood, Kansas USA
I have an accounting program with a Help file, accessed by Internet only. When attempting to get into it, I get the adorable little sound SP2 gave me which disallows pop-ups and anything else it chooses. I despise this stuff.

How can I temporarily disable all these dandy protections afforded me? I turned off Firewall: no change. I tried to lower the security level in Interet Options to Low but the stupid computer won't LET ME!! (I'm starting to hyperventilate. I wish they'd butt out and let me crash and burn...if I choose to.)

How can I lower my settings??
 

Mike Labbe

Administrator
Forum Support Team
Forum Donor
Joined
Jun 25, 2002
Posts
18,245
From
Lincoln, RI
Business
Get The Picture
Try holding down the CONTROL (CTRL) key on your keyboard, as you click to load the link.

Mike
 

JFeig

SGF, Supreme Grumble Framer
Forum Donor
Joined
Oct 13, 1999
Posts
4,990
From
Oak Park, MI
IE has a setting under Options to allow specified sites(specific URL's)to allow popups. These allowed URL's will be shown while most all others will be blocked.
 

MerpsMom

SGF, Supreme Grumble Framer
Charter Member
Thread starter
Joined
Jan 1, 1997
Posts
4,247
From
Leawood, Kansas USA
Thanx, I tried that, too. What gets me the most is that I get no say in this. If I want to set my Security Level at LOW, I should be allowed to do it. The computer just says, "Please choose a higher setting." Period, it will not allow anything else at any time, no option. To h ell with them. :mad:

Why does this tick me off so much??
 

Mike Labbe

Administrator
Forum Support Team
Forum Donor
Joined
Jun 25, 2002
Posts
18,245
From
Lincoln, RI
Business
Get The Picture
Do you have any third party pop up blockers or toolbars installed? (google toolbar, aol toolbar, etc)

When you get the pop up blocked, is there a yellow section at the top of the browser that tells you it was blocked? If so, you can usually right click on there and then opt to allow the popup from that site.

Mike
 

MerpsMom

SGF, Supreme Grumble Framer
Charter Member
Thread starter
Joined
Jan 1, 1997
Posts
4,247
From
Leawood, Kansas USA
Have no toolbars installed that I know of. Oddest thing: usually you do get the message at the browser top that you've been blocked. There's no such thing anywhere, no matter what I try.

And....of course....you can't call this company for help. They won't talk to you without a credit card number. I wheedled some info from a sales rep not long ago, but she acted like we were both covert agents. Jeez. I'll keep trying, all the while trying new vocabulary words.
 

CharlesL

PFG, Picture Framing God

In Memorium

Rest In Peace



Joined
Apr 9, 2001
Posts
7,255
From
Clayton, NC
C-a-l-m, Cathie...Brother Bill Gates knows what's best for us all..take a deep breath, hold it, let it out s-l-o-w-l-y. Then assume the Lotus position and use, as your mantra, "I have no say in how my computer works. That is fine. Brother Bill knows what's best. He watches over us all. I am happy."

I've fought similar battles, and with all due respect to those who've answered my questions, nothing I've tried has worked. On anything I've asked about. Content Advisor is probably my favorite of all time.

It just mysteriously appeared when I was searching for '57 Chevys. It asked for a password in order to allow ME to see the site I wanted to SEE on the computer I PAID for...Of course, I had no password, having never seen Content Advisor before. I called Tech Support, was told they couldn't GIVE me my password. I LOVE MSN!!!
 

Framar

WOW Framer
Joined
Jul 24, 2001
Posts
26,384
From
Buffalo, New York, USA/Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
Here's a weird one: when that artist phoned me the other day to tell me she wanted to participate in my horse project she mentioned that she had done two of the Rochester Horses. Great - I went to my bookmarked www.rochesterhorses.org site where I have spent many a happy hour browsing through their gallery of over 900 horse art photos, and I get the following message at the bottom of their (very abreviated) home page:

Warning: mysql_connect():access denied for user 'roho-admin@localhost' (using password: YES)

Is that weird or what?????
 

Bill Henry-

SPFG, Supreme Picture Framing God
Joined
Aug 17, 2002
Posts
20,895
From
Boondock Bowerbank, ME
Business
Retired from the grind
I don’t mean to gloat, but each time I read one of these threads, I am soooo glad that I have a Mac!
 

Mike Labbe

Administrator
Forum Support Team
Forum Donor
Joined
Jun 25, 2002
Posts
18,245
From
Lincoln, RI
Business
Get The Picture
The Mac has just as many issues
 
Top