• Welcome! You will have to register a free account, before you can access the system. If you already registered, please LOG IN. (top right)
    If you can't remember your password, CLICK HERE to reset it. If you have questions, feel free to click CONTACT US link at the bottom of this page.
Donmar Creations

Mitre Mite VN2 filter port constantly leaking air

robyn mathes

Grumbler in Training
Joined
May 12, 2015
Messages
10
Looking for some help. I thought it was the control valve causing it to leak but I replaced both but port 5 on the back valve that hosts the filter constantly discharges air. Does anyone have any suggestions? Thanks
 

neilframer

PFG, Picture Framing God
Joined
Jan 27, 2010
Messages
7,957
Looking for some help. I thought it was the control valve causing it to leak but I replaced both but port 5 on the back valve that hosts the filter constantly discharges air. Does anyone have any suggestions? Thanks
The VN2 is very similar to the VN2+1 and here is some info.
The VN2 doesn't actually have a filter.
It does have small plastic mufflers that are attached to the valve blocks, if this is what you are saying is leaking.
If it's leaking air at one of the valve blocks, the valve block will have to be replaced.
https://www.fletcher-terry.com/pdf/VN2+1_Parts.pdf

Screen Shot 2017-10-22 at 12.34.06 PM.png
Here is the contact for tech support, talk to Phil. He can help.
Screen Shot 2017-10-22 at 12.26.58 PM.png
 

robyn mathes

Grumbler in Training
Joined
May 12, 2015
Messages
10
Thanks. I replaced both of the valve blocks. I spoke to Phil the first time when I had to replace the pressure knob. Thank you. I couldn’t remember his name. I have the vn2+1 schematic but because of the differences I was hoping someone had the magic answer. Now I can’t get the vnails to feed. The ram shoots up but no vnail. I am betting something is stuck in the track lol but I don’t have the die tool so I can’t remove the die to unjam it. Never a dull moment with used equipment. Again thank you for your response
 

neilframer

PFG, Picture Framing God
Joined
Jan 27, 2010
Messages
7,957
Thanks. I replaced both of the valve blocks. I spoke to Phil the first time when I had to replace the pressure knob. Thank you. I couldn’t remember his name. I have the vn2+1 schematic but because of the differences I was hoping someone had the magic answer. Now I can’t get the vnails to feed. The ram shoots up but no vnail. I am betting something is stuck in the track lol but I don’t have the die tool so I can’t remove the die to unjam it. Never a dull moment with used equipment. Again thank you for your response
By the "die" if you're talking about the "nail head" ....#65 in the drawing, Then you just need the right size allen wrench to loosen the allen screw, #66 and remove the nailhead.
You can get the allen wrench to loosen the screw at any hardware store for a couple of dollars, it's metric but I don't recall the size. Screen Shot 2017-10-22 at 1.44.32 PM.png
You know that you need a 7 mm nail head for the 7mm vnail, 10mm nail head for the 10mm vnail,12mm, 15mm etc and those nailhead "blocks" are about $60 each.
 
Last edited:

robyn mathes

Grumbler in Training
Joined
May 12, 2015
Messages
10
Yes. Nail head. Sorry for the wrong term. Unfortunately the Allen wrenches are too long. I was able to use my air compressor and actually blow the stuck vnails and gunk out of the nail head area. I actually have it working now and the air leak seems to have slowed down enough to let me use the machine. Still plan for to talk to Phil. Need to order the tool and replacement felt as I think this is the original. Again thank you for your responses. I appreciate it.
 
LifeSaver Software...

Larry Peterson

PFG, Picture Framing God
Resource Provider
Joined
Apr 8, 2003
Messages
8,265
Unfortunately the Allen wrenches are too long.
Huh? :confused:

From the diagram, the nail head assembly looks about the same as my VN42. It just takes a simple 'L' shaped allen wrench.

So how do you use different length vnails? Or do you? I use 7, 10, 12 and 15mm vnails and can't image trying to exist with just a single size.
 

neilframer

PFG, Picture Framing God
Joined
Jan 27, 2010
Messages
7,957
Huh? :confused:
From the diagram, the nail head assembly looks about the same as my VN42. It just takes a simple 'L' shaped allen wrench.
So how do you use different length vnails? Or do you? I use 7, 10, 12 and 15mm vnails and can't image trying to exist with just a single size.
Yeah, I believe that the Mitre Mite (Alfa, ITW etc) all use the same nail heads.
I have worked on and repaired VN2, VN2+1 and I have a VN4 that I fixed a leaking regulator on and it is for sale.

I was given the VN4 in exchange for a debt and it is very clean except that it had the one leaking regulator that I replaced.
It only had the 7mm nailhead and was missing one handle so I purchased the handle and a 10mm head just for selling purposes.
It also didn't have the factory allen wrench so I got one from Ace Hardware and it works fine on the VN4.
It's possible that the VN2 has less room to get an allen wrench in there, I'm not sure about that, the ones that I used had the factory "special allen wrench".

Mitre Mite (Fletcher, Alfa, etc.) has a "special" allen wrench that has a sort of rounded end on the short leg that makes it easy to use from an angle and years ago they had a "special" allen wrench that had the short leg shorter than a regular one, but I have had no trouble using a regular allen wrench on the VN4.
Here's a picture of the VN2+1 nail head with the special rounded wrench and it may be too tight on that machine to get a regular allen wrench in there..o_O
Screen Shot 2017-10-22 at 6.29.17 PM.png

The VN4 does seem to have more room to get a wrench in there versus the VN2.
The VN42 is probably similar to the VN4 except the VN4 isn't programmable.
Screen Shot 2017-10-22 at 6.35.34 PM.png



The VN2+1 that I owned previously and had at home had 7mm, 10mm, 12mm, and a 15mm heads.
I sold it because I wasn't using it and we have a Cassese at work.

This is the VN4 that I have for sale...
IMG_6726.JPG
 
Last edited:

robyn mathes

Grumbler in Training
Joined
May 12, 2015
Messages
10
yes, the VN2 takes the special tool, because the lack of room - man the vn4 is so much more sophisticated than the VN2 - I will probably end up buying a 10 nail head also. Again, thank you for your responses.
 
Presto Frame & Moudling 800-431-1622
Top
;Added 5/9/20 MPL to disable rich text editor by default for IOS devices that have bug in browser