• Welcome! You will have to REGISTER a free account, before you can access the system. If you already registered, please LOG IN. (top right)
    If you can't remember your password, CLICK HERE to reset it. If you have questions, feel free to click the CONTACT US link at the bottom of this page.
FrameReady Special Offer - Call 888-281-2202

MG help

SusanG

SGF, Supreme Grumble Framer
Has anyone ever had a case of MG that would not cut? I've been cutting glass with a hand held cutter for 34 years, so I think that I've got it down. (a little sarcasm...) I even broke out a new cutter. I am cutting the correct side. Any help?
🙁
Has this happened to anyone? Thanks!

Nikodeumus

MGF, Master Grumble Framer
The TrueVue Museum and Conservation Glass have a side that is better to cut.
Full-size new sheets have a little line of text printed along one edge indicating which side is to be cut.

If you have an off-cut that doesn't have the text on it try this...
In an inconspicuous corner use a sharp razor or needle to try to scratch the surface.

The coated side should make a little scratch, the non-coated side should just slide along the glass surface.
It can take a little practice to figure out exactly how much pressure to use.

The "scratchy" side is the coated side, which is probably stopping the glass cutter form making a nice sharp clean score to break along.

Once you have identified the "scratchy" side, try cutting the non-scratchy side.
If you have any other pieces that are not labeled which side is which, do this technique then mark the coated side with a little line of black marker along the edge.

SusanG

Thanks Nikodeumus! I did check to see which side scratches. It was labeled correctly. I just cut six other pieces of glass from other boxes ( CC and MG) and they cut perfectly. I think that it is the glass. Has this happened to anyone?

neilframer

PFG, Picture Framing God
Forum Donor