• Welcome! You will have to REGISTER a free account, before you can access the system. If you already registered, please LOG IN. (top right)
    If you can't remember your password, CLICK HERE to reset it. If you have questions, feel free to click the CONTACT US link at the bottom of this page.
Rian Fabrication Services  www.rianfabrication.com

Masterpiece 500T-X 365 degrees?

Patriot frame

Grumbler in Training
does anyone know if it is possible to upgrade the electronics in this press to get up to 400 degrees? i just got in to sublimation and that requires a press to get to 365 degrees or more, i am currently using a 16x20 heat press to do shirts but i also want to do larger Aluminum and acrylic

wvframer

Humble Picture Framer
Forum Support Team
Forum Donor
I am no expert, but I explored this last year with a friend of mine that is an expert on sublimation. It is not advisable if you are going to continue to use the press to mount art.

The presses the award industry is using achieve those numbers easily. Because of their specialized use, I remember that buying a press for sublimation was not nearly as expensive as even a used 500.

Have a look at https://www.engraversjournal.com/
and

One final caveat: There have been lots of advances in materials in recent years, but sublimation is still a specialized subset of the awards industry. Expect a fairly steep learning curve with material that is fairly expensive. Expect to spend as much time learning as you did learning to cut mats consistently by hand.

I'm not trying to talk you out of it; just proceed with caution, particularly if your press is critical to your framing business.

In my case, with sublimation less than 1% of my business, I opted to outsource the actual sublimation to someone who does it every day.

Like the rest of us, I am pretty sure my friend is looking for things to do right now and would be glad to talk to you about it. PM me if you want his number.

Patriot frame

Grumbler in Training