Marble Tile

sunshine

Grumbler in Training
This is my first time posting on this website so please excuse me if I break any rules..

I have two marble tiles that I want to display in a box frame with glass. Attached is one of tiles. Each of them is about 3 x 5. I have below questions.
1) Because marble is heavier than a picture, I am assuming that I need to have a different backing than the usual one that would come with a standard box frame, from let's say Michael's. What should I use for backing?
2) How do I mount marble tile on the backing?

Please help. I have these tiles for number of years but I have not been able to display them because I do not know what to do with them.

If you some other suggestions to display, I would love to hear from you.

Thanks in advance
Marble Tile.jpg
Marble Tile.jpg

Absolutely gorgeous tile!

I am not sure where you are located exactly in MA, but I am in Gloucester MA and would be more than happy to show you some options.There are numerous possibilities, but have a professional look at it.
I would probably use formed rods, drill into a good backboard because of weight of marble. Use a nice fabric mat in a neutral color and a fun shadow box frame.

Welcome to the G!

If they are square, I would consider a sink mount with a reverse bevel mat catching about a 1/6th inch all around. 8 ply mat for the reverse, thoroughly glued to the backing structure, would give it strength to space a bit from the glass.

Just an idea off the top of my head......

Use thick foamcore and place the tile in the center. Draw around it with a pencil and cut the middle out.
Gently radius the edges of the window by running a screwdriver shank (or whatever) along and cover the
whole lot with a suitable soft fabric (velvet). Cut the middle out leaving maybe 1/2" 'tuck in' margin.
D/S carpet tape is the best thing for mounting the fabric. Lay strips on the mountboard and peel the top