Looking for advice, willing to pay (I'm not a leach)

rickwtx

Grumbler in Training
Business
Artist (painter of canvas art works
I'm a traditional artist that paints on canvas and sells them very cheaply (typically $150 for a 36x48)... I have a small following and I've sold almost 80 canvases since January. I want to offer a simple frame to buyers that I can build and apply on the spot. This means I need a plan to be able to put a frame around a piece in say 15 minutes.. outdoors, with only cordless tools. I currently have NOTHING except cordless drills. So... I need a plan... here is how I have figured this would work: I buy a mitre saw and cut 24", 30", 36", 40", 48", and 60" pieces of 2.25x.5 ash (or something similar and light), buy a Kreg setup and predrill pocket holes, stain 1/3 of them natural, 1/3 a honey color, and 1/3 black, buy small L brackets I can attach to back of canvas frame and then to frame and assemble on the spot. Am I crazy or would this work? I have a small art trailer so I can take along four+ of each size, since I don't expect to ever sell more than 2 frame setups per trip out. I sell in a downtown area twice a month and on a typical day I will sell 8-15 canvases. My frame has to be affordable since I can't charge more for the frame than I do for the art. Ideas?

Attachments

• dallas.jpg
    dallas.jpg
    648.4 KB · Views: 56
Here's a bit of advice...

If you sell a 36x48 for $150, it's no wonder that you have sold almost 80 since January!!
Double your prices!!!!
Then you can actually afford to keep doing this, cover materials expenses AND even pay yourself more than a pittance.

As for framing like you are considering, better to consider buying frame kits that only need a wedge and glue to join then use offset clips to join art to frame.

il_794xN.1272837955_c53b.jpg

Don't forget the wire on the back.

... Am I crazy or would this work?