Long frame length

picture framing clamps by MasterClamp 2021

Sandy G

Grumbler in Training
Business
penrith
Hi, I am new to framing & have a cassese cs55. I need to cut a length of 1120mm & the measuring guide goes up to 1030mm with it continuing further on the top. I know there must be a logical way to do this but I can't see it! Can anyone help please?

JFeig

SGF, Supreme Grumble Framer
Forum Donor
Add an offset shoe to the right support. An offset shoe is a dogleg that can be homemade with a strip of mat board and a block of wood as an example. It is clamped to the support and the distance between the end of the thin strip and the beginning of the wood stop (you have to measure) is added to the length of the gauge markings that already exist on the support. The shoe is clamped to the support so it does not move.

Ex: you have a 300mm gap between the end of the thin strip and the wood block. you want to measure 1120mm. you set the end of the thin strip at 1020mm.

Last edited:

alacrity8

Forum Donor
Add an offset shoe to the right support. An offset shoe is a dogleg that can be homemade with a strip of mat board and a block of wood as an example. It is clamped to the support and the distance between the end of the thin strip and the beginning of the wood stop (you have to measure) is added to the length of the gauge markings that already exist on the support. The shoe is clamped to the support so it does not move.

Ex: you have a 300mm gap between the end of the thin strip and the wood block. you want to measure 1120mm. you set the end of the thin strip at 780mm.
I'm not sure I am following this description.
Can you share a picture?

alacrity8

Forum Donor
Hi, I am new to framing & have a cassese cs55. I need to cut a length of 1120mm & the measuring guide goes up to 1030mm with it continuing further on the top. I know there must be a logical way to do this but I can't see it! Can anyone help please?