Question Framing a large map/sound absorber

ookilter

Grumbler in Training
Business
retired
Hi all,

Newbie here. I have a 65" tall x 42" wide map I want to frame. The map will cover a 1" thick rockwool panel acting as a sound absorber. Our home has a large great room with coffered ceiling and hard surfaces all around, so the echoes are loud and long. I l already tested the paper for sound transmission and it will be fine for the frequencies I want to absorb.

I'll construct a sub-frame using 1"x1" pine, properly braced in the corners, to hold the rockwool panel. The rockwool will be glued to a masonite panel behind it (on the back side of the frame) to keep it erect. On top (or in front of) that subframe, I will build the actual picture frame. The map will be contact glued to the rockwool panel (I have to test that my spray-on adhesive will not discolor the map paper.) After trimming, the map will have 3/4" of white space around it. so final frame dimensions TBD. I will not be using any glass, because that would ruin the sound absorption quality of the rockwool.

Questions:
1. All the books say use a narrow frame for a large piece. What do you say?
2. Should I mat the piece?
3. Can't decide between natural wood finish or painted for the frame. After looking at the map (the first word "map" is a link to the item) what do you think?
4. I have a "Jorgenson" manual miter saw and should be able to get an accurate 45 degree angle using a builder's square. I do not have a trimmer. What do you think my chances are to get good corners like this?

Thanks in advance for your helpful replies,
b

4. I have a "Jorgenson" manual miter saw and should be able to get an accurate 45 degree angle using a builder's square. I do not have a trimmer. What do you think my chances are to get good corners like this?
I'm not a framer or designer so I can't really answer your other questions but this one is easy for me.