Float hinge large piece

Lotta

Grumbler
Business
Hobbyist
My mother have this 30”x42” drawing on rag board/thick cotton paper with lovely rough edges. Some time ago the whole thing fell from the wall, glass broke and the art slided of the backboard. It revealed looped painters tape as hinges and a backboard with strong yellowing edges…

I have already cried and saved a few original artworks that the local framer had tortured in various ways for my mother (how about taping an 2000$ drawing from a well known artist directly on to the passepartout and leaving a printed and heavily colored “readymade-frame-paper” in direct contact underneath, and charging her 150$ for this!). I’m not going there.

I have Bainbridge archive mount board, 335779, 100% cotton museum quality. I have acid free “Japan paper tape” (don’t remember the correct name) and I have been practicing hinging floating artwork. I do realize that as a hobbyist I shouldn’t do this, but I trust myself more than the local professionals here. I will try to learn as much as possible and practice on other large things before starting.

But how would I float-mount such a huge thing? My thoughts are t-hinges through slots in the mountboard, but I would have to use at least 4? How close to the top edge do I dare to put them, is there risk that the weight may tear the paper? But surely the Japan paper would tear before a thick cotton paper?

I can use my photo clubs help to order museum glass, but because of the weight in a private home I was pondering museum acrylic/plexiglass. Is that something to avoid or a great choice to lessen the weight?

Search the forum for 'hedgehog' mounting.
It is my preferred method to float mount art. I then use a second mat to float above the art, to keep the glass away from the art. I float that mat, using either 8-ply or foam strips

Check out the free articles on hinging on the FrameTek web site at FrameTek.com Email me if you have questions.