• Welcome to the largest and friendlest resource for picture framers! Please LOG IN or REGISTER a free account.
    Once logged in, you will be able to SEARCH our archives.
    If you can't remember your password, CLICK HERE to reset it. Trouble? Click the CONTACT US link.

Compare results - spray and brayer vs cold press vacuum mount

Springlock by Craft Inc

James Keuning

Grumbler in Training
I'm an amateur framer and I am taking my first venture into the world of mounting posters to form core. Everything I've worked on so far has been hinged onto foam core with normal mats behind glass. Now I am framing some big (46"x30") posters and the hinge technique is not going to work. These are normal low quality posters but I've built some cool maple frames and I've found a local acrylite supplier so I'm venturing into the acrylic world also. I am going to mount the posters with no mats, probably touching the glass. I might use a thin mat or spacers, but whatever I do in that regard, I want to mount the posters.

I have an opportunity to purchase a cold mount vacuum unit for a price I can deal with (cheaper than professionally mounting my four posters) and I'm strongly considering buying it. But I wonder if I can get the same results with spray adhesive and a brayer. Assuming that I don't need to be efficient - I can take as long as I need to do it right - am I just as well to skip the vacuum unit? I mean, I love gadgets and I have the room, but I also like to proceed simply if I can.

Thanks in advance, I've learned a lot from this site!

Register for the picture framer's grumble

Jim Miller

SPFG, Supreme Picture Framing God
Forum Donor
I guess most framers would g with a heat press, because heat-activated mounting adhesives are very versatile.