• Welcome! You will have to register a free account, before you can access the system. If you already registered, please LOG IN. (top right)
    If you can't remember your password, CLICK HERE to reset it. If you have questions, feel free to click CONTACT US link at the bottom of this page.
We’re here for you. www.wizardcutters.com

Opinions Wanted Canon to Sony Transition - letting go

echavez123

MGF, Master Grumble Framer
Joined
Jan 24, 2008
Messages
808
I have been a Canon photog for many years and now have purchased the Sony A7rii. Purchased an Sigma MC-11 mount so I can use my Canon lenses on the Sony. Some features of the lenses work on the Sony, but not all. The adapter increases the flange to focal plane distance, and not sure if this affects the quality of the image. So, for the next lens purchase, I have to make a decision. Do I buy it for Canon and use the adapter to the Sony, or buy the lens for the Sony and skip the Canon?

It is nice to best of both worlds, but under the current technology, this is not happening. One option is to just use the Canon lenses for the Canon and purchase new lenses for the Sony without having to use an adapter. Any photogswith experience on this issue?
 

artfolio

SGF, Supreme Grumble Framer
Joined
Feb 16, 2007
Messages
2,625
A bit over my head I am afraid but I would think altering the focal length would only affect focus and so long as you are seeing sharp images the quality should not be affected a this is a function of the sensor.

Maybe a question on a Sony or Canon board would yield some more informed suggestions.
 

Freddy L

Grumbler in Training
Joined
Aug 17, 2018
Messages
9
word is Canon might be making an announcement about a FF mirrorless next week so maybe hold off until then. whether or not it keeps the EF mount is up in the air. Nikon just announced two FF mirrorless cameras so guessing Canon doesn't want to be caught with their pants down.
 

echavez123

MGF, Master Grumble Framer
Joined
Jan 24, 2008
Messages
808
word is Canon might be making an announcement about a FF mirrorless next week so maybe hold off until then. whether or not it keeps the EF mount is up in the air. Nikon just announced two FF mirrorless cameras so guessing Canon doesn't want to be caught with their pants down.
From what I heard, the Canon mirrorless is just a 5d mark iv. I really like the fact that the Sony has built in image stabilization. That was the deciding factor.
Now, if I could solve the Canon lens vs Sony lens issue.
 
Vermont Hardwoods open and shipping

echavez123

MGF, Master Grumble Framer
Joined
Jan 24, 2008
Messages
808
Thanks for the link. So, the new mirrorless has a EF-R mount, which, as I understand it, requires and adapter to use my existing EF lenses. This is also my concern with using the Canon lenses on the Sony. It may be a while before Canon creates a series of EF-R lenses to span the needs for photogs.

The Canon sports 31 megapix vs Sony 40 megapix, and there is no in camera stabilization for the Canon. This was the deciding factor for me. I love my Canon, but I just took it out of the camera bag and replaced it with the Sony. Here we go...
 

Daniel Smith

True Grumbler
Joined
Nov 27, 2015
Messages
50
Use your Sony with Canon lenses and compare to your Canon camera.
The Sony will work just fine. Use what is more comfortable for you as both can produce excellent quality.
 

artfolio

SGF, Supreme Grumble Framer
Joined
Feb 16, 2007
Messages
2,625
I am surprised, no, make that shocked, that the Canon does not offer image stabilisation. Even my wife's little 5 year old Fuji compact camera has that.
 

Daniel Smith

True Grumbler
Joined
Nov 27, 2015
Messages
50
My 8x10 and 5x7 cameras and the Hasselblad don't have it either. Darn those guys who made these wooden cameras in the 1920's, 1050's and 1980's!

My canon digital has Image Stabilization in the lenses.

While we are at it - https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1196392-REG/sony_alpha_a7_ii_mirrorless.html

The link above goes to a fine SONY package at a darned good price. If you are really interested in Sony this may be a good way to get into the system.
 
Last edited:
Picture Framing Website www.framingengine.com
Top
;Added 5/9/20 MPL to disable rich text editor by default for IOS devices that have bug in browser