Question Can i made good wood frame using Table saw?

cheonmu

Grumbler in Training
Business
Selling artwork
Hi,

I run a small business in Korea that sells painting.

I sell paintings at various price range, but cheap paintings (under $1,000) only accept art canvas by delivary.

And then,

If i need to framing, i will give it to Framer.
If not i will wrap canvas to frame (stretcherBar) provided from Framer.

But that stretcher bar is not a normal frame you think.

Frame is made by Meranti wood stick and wood stick size is 2,8cm(1.1") x 2.8cm(1.1") and There is a slight rounded.

sssssss.jpg

Usually, we uses this wood when buliding or interior as Frame in S.Korea.

I'd like to get away from this supplier and try to build a slightly better quality frame myself.

Fortunately, I'm not an expert, but I have some knowledge and equipment in wood working.

If I buy Table saw and Sled or Miter gague, can I make a better quality frame than this?

And bst wishes for a Happy New Year!

wpfay

Comfort Badger
Forum Support Team
Forum Donor
Business
Sunshine Frames
The short answer is yes, you can make your own frame moulding with a table saw, but it isn't as easy as it sounds, and you will need more than a table saw to make what those pictures show.
The pieces in these photos used several different machines to get to that shape and finish.

A jointer plane is used to straighten the edge of the raw timber, and in some cases, flatten one side of the face of the board.
A thickness (finishing) plane is used to mill the wood to the finished dimensions. This is evident from the "chatter" marks in the upper rail of the first photo.
A table saw is used to rip the boards into desired widths, and the thickness plane is used again to mill the pieces to their finished width.
A router table or spindle shaper is used to create the rounded edge.
A miter saw is used to cut the frames, though a sled on a table saw would also work.
An underpinner (V-nailer) is used to join the frames.

artfolio