Wanted artist looking for a mat cutter

Item Wanted
M

Matt B

Hi all. I just joined The Grumble. I'm a painter and photographer; not a professional framer. I'm looking for advice about what sort of mat cutter to buy. I was looking at the new Logan 650/655/660's, but I realized after reading comments here that used equipment might be that best alternative. I want to be able to cut mats with relative ease, including 4 and 8 ply mats. I live in San Jose, CA. Does anyone have a good used mat cutter for sale, or advice about what to look for and where I might look? Thanks, Matt.

You should stay away from that line of Logan's. Those are not professional mat cutters. More for the hobbyist. The 850 series are professional grade - Logan bought the Phaedra Chronomat after the company folded and renamed it into the 860 series.

I was at an auction of a frame store on Sunday,http://www.thegrumble.com/newreply.php?do=newreply&p=920269 , and included in the sale was a Logan (650 I believe) as I reported in the quote below.

About the only thing I saw that sold for it's true value was a Logan mat cutter that went for $1.00.

You didn't mention your budget. I would keep looking in the Commercial section here.

No matter what kind of mat cutter you purchase, there will definitely be a learning curve, even if it's a CNC. If you want easy, CNC is the way to go. Do not expect to be cutting perfect mats right off the bat, but once you have it down, and have become familiar with your cutter, any of them will seem easy. That is of course, assuming that you cut mats pretty much every day. The further apart your mat cutting sessions, the greater the frustration levels.

From the earliest days of frame shops, mat cutting has always been the most stressful task out of the entire operation. CNC machines have all but erased that little problem about being a picture framer, but even those machines can have their moments.