• Welcome to the largest and friendlest resource for picture framers! Please LOG IN or REGISTER a free account.
    Once logged in, you will be able to SEARCH our archives.
    If you can't remember your password, CLICK HERE to reset it. Trouble? Click the CONTACT US link.

3M 811 Scotch Removable tape better than Lineco, UKIT, PH7-70, Filmoplast tapes?

Vermont Hardwoods solid wood picture frame molding

slipknoize

Grumbler in Training
Business
Hello!,

I'm a newbie in the art of framing, and I believe I need a double opinion on what I was suggested today.

I recently decided to frame myself some art prints I have been buying. Today I went to a restoration and conservation specialized store to buy some tape for hinging an art print (float mount style).
I asked for a tape that would hold my print (12 x 14 Inches) and I would like to be able to remove the print from the frame in 10 or 20 years with the least damage possible.

They have all the types of Lineco, UKIT, PH7-70, Filmoplast tapes in the store, paper, linen, auto-adhesive, gummed, etc.. But I was recommend the 3M 811 Scotch Removable tape since it would be the tape that would leave the least marks on the print if removed in 10 years, non of the other tapes would be possible to remove with leaving marks, and would require the use of benzine to do so. They referred that it is absolutely acid-free, neutral ph, and the safest.

I ended up buying it, but not total convinced that a removable tape that I can buy in a supermarket is the best option. Can you help a newbie confirming that this is the best option for what I want?
4720_fita-amovivel-celo-scotch-19mm-x-33m_pt.jpg

Thank you!!

Last edited:

David Hewitt

MGF, Master Grumble Framer
Forum Donor
There is so much to be said here.
So I will keep it simple until you have the opportunity to learn more.
Lets assume the prints have lets say a white, negative border.
First, no on the 811, it is an extremely temporary tape. ( Think post-it )