Results 1 to 22 of 22

Thread: Blu-Ray DVD to Wireless Router

  1. #1
    Banned Paul N's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    CT, not far from the LI Sound
    Posts
    17,363

    Default Blu-Ray DVD to Wireless Router

    Anybody has such a connection??

    I am thinking about getting a Samsung Blu-Ray DVD player to stream Netflix from the web.

    Have wireless router upstairs.......and I don't want to use a 100 ft Ethernet cable......!

    USB wireless adapter??? I'd rather not go with the $400 DVD player with built-in wireless......
  2. Thread Sponsor
The CMC Doctor



  • #2
    Grumble Moderator Team Mike Labbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Lincoln, RI USA
    Age
    48
    Posts
    12,818

    Default

    Some people do this with the ones designed for video games. It uses wireless and gives you some wired Ethernet ports at the entertainment system.

    Mike
    -------------------------------------
    More Wagging - Less BARKING

    Get The Picture Framing in Lincoln, RI


  • #3
    Banned Paul N's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    CT, not far from the LI Sound
    Posts
    17,363

    Default

    True, but those would cost as much as a Samsung DVD player with built in wireless!

  • #4
    SPFG Supreme Picture Framer God Bob Doyle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Kennebunk, Maine
    Age
    51
    Posts
    17,792

    Default

    Paul I hear you play COD WAW on-line. Isn't your xbox a wireless model? If not why not look into the wireless adapter and move the player...


    I figure you MUST be using an x-box because a Sony would be BluRay already
    Blockin' out the scenery, breakin' my mind Do this, don't do that, can't you read the sign?.

  • #5
    SPFG Supreme Picture Framer God Bob Doyle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Kennebunk, Maine
    Age
    51
    Posts
    17,792

    Default

    Mike I have a netbook, no cd or dvd player with it. How can I use the dvd player in my desktop on the Netbook? Netbook has win 7 desktop has vista. I tried ssharing the dvd player but the netbook says I have no rights trying to use it. Or something bout sharing rights..
    Blockin' out the scenery, breakin' my mind Do this, don't do that, can't you read the sign?.

  • #6
    Banned Paul N's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    CT, not far from the LI Sound
    Posts
    17,363

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Doyle View Post
    Paul I hear you play COD WAW on-line. Isn't your xbox a wireless model? If not why not look into the wireless adapter and move the player...


    I figure you MUST be using an x-box because a Sony would be BluRay already
    XBOX is for amateurs...

    I use a real PC to play. Fastest video card and 24 inch monitor.

  • #7
    Grumble Moderator Team Mike Labbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Lincoln, RI USA
    Age
    48
    Posts
    12,818

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Doyle View Post
    Mike I have a netbook, no cd or dvd player with it. How can I use the dvd player in my desktop on the Netbook? Netbook has win 7 desktop has vista. I tried ssharing the dvd player but the netbook says I have no rights trying to use it. Or something bout sharing rights..
    Bob: The pc's have to have sharing enabled in the network settings area, and you have to log in from the laptop, with the host pc's credentials. (user name and password)

    Paul: The other solution is to put a laptop there and share the internet connection Something like this is what I had in mind:
    http://www.amazon.com/Cisco-Linksys-...ef=pd_sim_e_39

    Mike
    -------------------------------------
    More Wagging - Less BARKING

    Get The Picture Framing in Lincoln, RI


  • #8
    PFG Picture Framing God Pat Murphey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Lafayette, NJ
    Age
    71
    Posts
    8,986

    Default

    Is Netflix streaming full resolution 1080p video for Blu-Ray?
    Pat

  • #9
    Grumbler Tim Nicholson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    19

    Default Ethernet over power a solution?

    I use These (or at least the UK equivalent) to pass 200Mb broadband from my router to outbuildings etc. Maybe this would work in your case too?

    Tim

  • #10
    CGF II, Certified Grumble Framer Level II
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Orange county, CA
    Posts
    288

    Default

    I use a similar setup for my entertainment system. I have a wireless router configured to be a bridge connected to all the gear that needs network access. The main router is in another room and the devices have no idea they aren't just on a lan.

    For my setup, I chose to use 2 WRT54GL routers running the Tomato firmware. I linked both in a WDS configuration. It's overkill for this application, but allows me to do some other cool things if needed.

    I think all you would need is a bridge or a router that can run in bridge mode (not sure though).

    I would avoid power line adapters since I have found them to be unreliable in the past. Not to mention noisy devices like vacuums and microwaves might cause dropouts. I'm also not a such a fan of the USB wireless option. I researched this and it seems that if you get one that your player has a driver for, it can work. However, you need to either buy it from the player manufacturer (expensive), or find out the exact chipset that is compatible and risk it. Not to mention, it will only work with the player.

    If you get a bridge, you can connect any number of devices.

  • #11
    Banned Paul N's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    CT, not far from the LI Sound
    Posts
    17,363

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pat Murphey View Post
    Is Netflix streaming full resolution 1080p video for Blu-Ray?
    They carry Blu-Ray (costs more) but not sure if they stream the content yet. Most likely they will at some point.

  • #12
    Banned Paul N's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    CT, not far from the LI Sound
    Posts
    17,363

    Default

    Jim:

    I was using same router as you, then had FIOS a couple of months ago... and now I am using their own branded router.....and the WRT54G is living in a drawer now.

    Not sure what wireless adapter will work with the FIOS thingie, and I doubt I can get a reliable answer from them.

    A 50 ft Ethernet cable (from router to DVD player) going through the floor / ceiling is beginning to sound like an only option...LOL

  • #13
    CGF II, Certified Grumble Framer Level II
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Orange county, CA
    Posts
    288

    Default

    Does your new router have wireless? You mgiht be able to use your old one as a bridge and connect the blu-ray player to it. You'll probably have to download a 3rd party firmware (like the one I use).

    Which version of the WRT54G do you have? Newer versions have less memory and don't work with all 3rd party firmware mods. The WRT54GL is a legacy version that linksys sells that has the original memory size, so enthusiasts can hack them.

    As far as netflix goes, no, they do not stream 1080P. Their HD streaming quality is somewhere in between DVD quality and HD broadcast quality. (also no 5.1 yet)

  • #14
    PFG Picture Framing God Pat Murphey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Lafayette, NJ
    Age
    71
    Posts
    8,986

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul N View Post
    They carry Blu-Ray (costs more) but not sure if they stream the content yet. Most likely they will at some point.
    Yeah, I heard on a satellite forum that the streaming Netflix movies are not even up to standard DVDs in quality. (Just very convenient.) I don't use Netflix or Blu-Ray DVDs because I find the HD satellite movie channels, especially the uncompressed ones are comparable to Blu-Ray on the TV and much better than regular DVDs, even on an upconverting Blu-Ray DVD player. I don't have the urge to see movies when they first come out, but most are now available as HD pay per view (some in 1080p), if I really cared.

    I think bandwidth issues will keep Blu-Ray from practical streaming for a while.
    Pat

  • #15
    True Grumbler
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    San Marcos, TX
    Age
    33
    Posts
    73

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul N View Post
    Anybody has such a connection??

    I am thinking about getting a Samsung Blu-Ray DVD player to stream Netflix from the web.

    Have wireless router upstairs.......and I don't want to use a 100 ft Ethernet cable......!

    USB wireless adapter??? I'd rather not go with the $400 DVD player with built-in wireless......

    Buy a "Western Digital Live Plus" media player.The plus has built in Netflix support and the player supports full 1080p streaming.I have the slightly older model which is the WDTV Live. I can use a wireless N usb adapter to watch movies with the player on any t.v. in the house I move it to. I have a 1tb external hard drive hooked up to my wireless N router so I can use this player wirelessly anywhere, its great! The model that I have doesn't support netflix but it does support Pandora and You Tube.

  • #16
    CGF II, Certified Grumble Framer Level II
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Orange county, CA
    Posts
    288

    Default

    There is a pretty good guide on the dd-wrt page detailing how to setup your old WRT54G as a bridge. This solution would be nice because you wouldn't have to buy anything.

    http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Client_Mode

  • #17
    Banned Paul N's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    CT, not far from the LI Sound
    Posts
    17,363

    Default

    Using the old router as a bridge is definitely a great idea!!

    Thanks!

  • #18
    Banned Paul N's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    CT, not far from the LI Sound
    Posts
    17,363

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chrish04 View Post
    Buy a "Western Digital Live Plus" media player
    That's one very interesting piece of hardware!

    Amazon has it for $119!

  • #19
    PFG Picture Framing God
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    KY
    Posts
    9,900

    Default

    Considering the quality (or lack of) of the movies that you can stream, I wouldn't spend a dime to play them on another tv. I am set up to watch them on our WII but the streaming movies are rather limited.

  • #20
    SPFG Supreme Picture Framer God Bob Doyle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Kennebunk, Maine
    Age
    51
    Posts
    17,792

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jay H View Post
    Considering the quality (or lack of) of the movies that you can stream, I wouldn't spend a dime to play them on another tv. I am set up to watch them on our WII but the streaming movies are rather limited.
    The WII is a major limiting factor. It can only put out 480 not 1080. So don't base your streaming quality argument on the abilities of the WII I'd base it on your broadband connection and capabilities of the TV or video card in your computer. (Or game console the Sony and MS products can output to 1080)
    Blockin' out the scenery, breakin' my mind Do this, don't do that, can't you read the sign?.

  • #21
    PFG Picture Framing God
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    KY
    Posts
    9,900

    Default

    The video quality is fine. The quality of the movies offered are not. I think we're going to dump netflix for redbox.

  • #22
    SPFG Supreme Picture Framer God Bob Doyle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Kennebunk, Maine
    Age
    51
    Posts
    17,792

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jay H View Post
    The video quality is fine. The quality of the movies offered are not. I think we're going to dump netflix for redbox.
    WII is 480. I was looking for HDMI* cables for the WII to hook up to our 37" TV. XBox had them and the difference was stunning. The WII doesn't have the cables because frankly it can't do 1080.

    Since we got the new tv the kids haven't used the WII but a dozen times. A month ago I unplugged it because of a thunderstorm, and no one has noticed yet The VCR was never plugged in and no one has noticed either. But a day doesn't go by that the XBox isn't used.

    The WII was fun while it lasted but the surrounding technology by passed it and now the video quality s showing it's age.
    Blockin' out the scenery, breakin' my mind Do this, don't do that, can't you read the sign?.

  • Thread Sponsor
    The CMC Doctor

  • Go

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    LifeSaver Software