PDA

View Full Version : Latest Phishing Spam?


Framar
January 19th, 2007, 08:08 PM
In the past two days I have received a disproportionate amount emails which purport to come from Mail Delivery Systems, Mail Delivery Subsystems, Mailer Daemon, or Postmaster - and the subject line is all about failure to deliver some email I supposedly sent. About half of these have attachments.

What are they aiming for???

Anyone else getting a lot of these???

:faintthud:

Richard Darling
January 19th, 2007, 08:22 PM
I've been getting a lot too. All I can guess is that there's usually a file attached, and if you open it you probably compromise your computer.

MarkyW
January 19th, 2007, 09:32 PM
I was getting a bunch of those emails from mailer daemon or whatever about a year ago. I called my domain host and they said that my domain name got spoofed. i.e. someone was sending spam email making up a return email name as "whatever@mydomain.com" and then the isp's they sent it to returned the ones that weren't sent to a valid email address, which came back to me.

My domain host had a 'catch-all' where any email sent to "anything@mydomain.com" got forwarded to me. So he just shut down my catch-all and set up only specific email addresses for me. Haven't gotten anything since.

Does any of that explanation make sense?

Framar
January 19th, 2007, 11:14 PM
Aha - all of the ones I have been getting are addressed to *?>#@mydomain.com.

Hmmm...

Mike Labbe @ GTP
January 20th, 2007, 12:15 AM
That generally means a lot of emails are being send out "from" your domain to bad addresses, and the rejection messages are bouncing back to the apparent sender.

In most cases someone is spoofing your address/domain and faking the FROM field. It's also possible that a computer in your control is infected and unknowingly sending them. A spyware/adware scan, and a virus scan are always good, just to eliminate that as a possibility.

Usually you can view the invisible headers from any of the original messages to determine their origin. (the IP, which can be cross referenced to know the city/state/country)

Once you are sufficiently annoyed by these, you can make a rule in Outlook or Outlook Express to purge all emails that have "*?>#@yourdomain.com" in the message headers.

Mike

Framar
January 20th, 2007, 12:36 AM
Thanks Mike - I'll try a spyware scan (although in the past all it's found are Grumble cookies!!!).